RFG elects Neil Sime as its new Chair

Rail Freight Group (RFG) is pleased to announce that its Board has elected Neil Sime to be its new Chair for the coming year. Neil is the Managing Director of Victa Railfreight and over the past two years has served as Vice-Chair of the RFG.

Neil has been a long-standing supporter of the group and has sat on the Board since 2003. He takes over from Ken Russell, Director at John G Russell, who has served as Chair since 2019. 

 Andrew Harston, Regional Director, Wales & Short Sea Ports, Associated British Ports, has been elected Vice-Chair. The election for these positions takes place each year, with all qualifying Board Directors eligible to stand.

Neil said: “I am delighted to be appointed to the role of Chair of the Rail Freight Group for the next 12 months. Despite the current challenges surrounding Covid-19, it is an exciting time for the rail freight sector, as more businesses look to move their goods off of the roads and onto the rail network. The RFG’s role has never been more important in tackling the current issues such as the decarbonisation of the transport sector and in helping the Government meet its environmental targets. I look forward to helping carry the debate forwards and supporting RFG Members.”

RFG is also pleased to welcome new Board members, voted in at its recent AGM: Liam Day, GB Railfreight (GBRf); Peter Graham, Freightliner; John Hall, Davis Wagon Services and Geoff Lippitt, PD Ports.

RFG Director-General Maggie Simpson OBE, said: “I am delighted to welcome both Neil and Andrew to their new roles as Chair and Vice-Chair of the RFG. They both bring with them years of experience in the rail freight, ports and logistics sectors and I very much look forward to working them. I would also like to welcome our new Board members who will each add their personality and wide range of experience to the group.” 

The full RFG Board list of members is now:

Liam Day, GB Railfreight­­­­
Peter Graham, Freightliner
John Hall, Davis Wagon Services
Geoff Lippitt, PD Ports
Simon Blake, Aggregate Industries
Andrew Harston, ABP
Chris Geldard, Geldard Consulting
Martin Woor, Hutchison Ports
Peter Frost, Kilbride Group
Mike Garratt, MDS Transmodal
Maggie Simpson, RFG
Ken Russell, Russell Logistics
Chris Swan, Tarmac
Neil Sime, Victa Railfreight
Rob Brook, VTG Rail
David Turner, WH Malcolm.